Race Day

Caulfield Guineas Day is held every year in October during the Caulfield Spring Racing Carnival at Caulfield Racecourse. With a total of ten races on the card, Caulfield Guineas Day features four Group 1 races, two Group 2 races, a couple of Group 3 races and a pair of Listed races. One of very few all black-type meets held in the country, Caulfield Guineas Day is renowned for extremely high quality racing and entertainment.

Caulfield Guineas Day is strongly linked with Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Day. Both the Thousand Guineas Prelude and the Caulfield Guineas Prelude are held on that day, while the Thousand Guineas and the Caulfield Guineas are held on Caulfield Guineas Day. Because a large number of horses who run in the prelude also seek to contest the follow-up event, these two days have become inextricably linked in their own small racing series.

Caulfield Guineas Day is far and away one of the most prestigious days of racing in Australia. The long-standing style and tradition of thoroughbred racing comes to the fore on Caulfield Guineas Day. Excesses of fashion, entertainment, punting and horse racing are what Caulfield Guineas Day is all about.

The full Caulfield Guineas Day race schedule of ten black-type races is below. If you’re in Melbourne, it is definitely worth making the effort to get down to the tracks. Caulfield Guineas Day is a spectacular day of racing and one well worth attending.

2016 Caulfield Guineas Day Race Programme

Below you will find the Caulfield Guineas Day 2016 race day programme. With over $3.2 million prize money on offer throughout the day, the 2016 Caulfield Guineas Day is one of the richest and most prestigious occasions in Australian horse racing.

All start times listed are local Melbourne time, AEDST.

Race No Time Race Name Distance
1 12:20PM Listed Inglis Debutant Stakes 1000m
2 12:55PM Group 2 Ladbrokes Herbert Power Stakes 2400m
3 1:30PM Group 3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes 1200m
4 2:05PM Listed Perri Cutten Weekend Hussler Stakes 1400m
5 2:40PM Group 3 Cape Grim Beef Stakes 2400m
6 3:15PM Group 1 Ladbrokes Caulfield Stakes 2000m
7 3:50PM Group 1 Schweppes Thousand Guineas 1600m
8 4:30PM Group 1 Ladbrokes Caulfield Guineas 1600m
9 5:10PM Group 1 IG Markets Toorak Handicap 1600m
10 5:45PM Group 2 Mitsubishi ElectricSchillaci Stakes 1100m

Caulfield Guineas Day Race Information

Debutant Stakes

Group Distance Prize Age Sex Conditions
Listed 1000m $120,000 2YO Open Set Weights

The listed Debutant Stakes is a staple event of Caulfield Guineas Day. The Debutant Stakes provides rising two year olds with the opportunity to showcase their skills in a star-studded field on one of the most famous tracks in the country. Notable Debutant Stakes winners include Gait (2005) and Moonlight Hussler (2013).

Thoroughbred Club Stakes

Group Distance Prize Age Sex Conditions
3 1200m $150,000 3YO Fillies Set Weights w Penalties

The group 3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes was inaugurated in 1968 as the Maroona Handicap. In 1976 it was renamed the Thoroughbred Club Stakes. Held over various distances between 1100 and 1400m, the Thoroughbred Club Stakes has remained at 1200m since 2000. In its short history there have been three dead heats. Notable winners include Sovereign Palace (1982), Boardwalk Angel (1988), Vigil (1995) and Crown Princess (2003).

Weekend Hussler Stakes

Group Distance Prize Age Sex Conditions
Listed 1400m $120,000 Open Open Handicap

Named after renowned stallion Weekend Hussler, this listed event provides a chance for short distance handicappers to get another preparatory race under their belt before stepping up in distance to longer events.

Schillaci Stakes

Group Distance Prize Age Sex Conditions
2 1000m $200,000 3YO&UP Open Weight For Age

Inaugurated in 1970 as the Chirnside Stakes, the Schillaci Stakes has been known as such since 2000, when it was renamed in honour of renowned sprinter Schillaci. Maintained at 1000m since 1988, the Schillaci Stakes has seen horses such as Grey Way (1974), Mahogany (1997) and Black Caviar (2010, 11) claim the title.

Herbert Power Stakes

Group Distance Prize Age Sex Conditions
2 2400m $200,000 Open Open Quality

The Herbert Power Stakes was inaugurated as the Eclipse Stakes in 1898. Since then, the race has know a number of names and been held over a variety of distances from 1600m to the current 2400m. Known as a decent guide to the Melbourne Cup, Herbert Power Stakes winners include Poseidon (1906, 07), Eurythmic (1921), Desert Chief (1936), Rising Fast (1955) and Sea Moon (2013).

Caulfield Stakes

Group Distance Prize Age Sex Conditions
1 2000m $400,000 3YO&UP Open Weight For Age

Inaugurated in 1886, the long history of the Caulfield Stakes has seen impressive winners such as Wakeful (1901, 02), Eurythmic (1920, 21, 22), Bernborough (1946), Winfreux (1965, 66, 67), Gunsynd (1972) and Lonhro (2002, 03) among countless other famous horses. For a brief stint between 1997 and 2010 the race was named the Yalumba Stakes.

Toorak Handicap

Group Distance Prize Age Sex Conditions
1 1600m $400,000 Open Open Handicap

The Toorak Handicap was first run in 1881, and has also been known as the IXL and The Elders Mile throughout its history. With the exception of 1891 when it was held over 1800m, the Toorak Handicap has always been held over 1600m (or a mile). Notable Toorak Handicap winners include Jospehine (1881), Uncle Sam (1912), The Trump (1937), Royal Gem (1946), Tobin Bronze (1967) and Solzhenitsyn (2012, 13).

Thousand Guineas

Group Distance Prize Age Sex Conditions
1 1600m $500,000 3YO Fillies Set Weights

One of the younger races on the day, the Thousand Guineas was inaugurated in 1946. It has always been at a relatively high level, having automatically become a Group 1 event in 1979. The Thousand Guineas is a career-making event for fillies. Notable Thousand Guineas winners include Wenona Girl (1960), Begonia Bell (1967), Toy Show (1975), Northwood Plume (1994) and Atlantic Jewel (2011).

Caulfield Guineas

Group Distance Prize Age Sex Conditions
1 1600m $1 million 3YO Open Set Weights

First held in 1881, the Caulfield Guineas has a long and storied history as one of Australia’s most prestigious races. Notable Caulfield Guineas winners include Artilleryman (1919), High Caste (1939), Tulloch (1957) and Luskin Star (1977).